Dean's Distinguished Lecture Series

2018-2019 Dean's Distinguished Lecture in the Humanities

Randi Hutter Epstein, MD, MPH, MS
Randi Hutter Epstein, MD, MPH, MS

“A Pioneering Surgeon, Hundreds of Jarred Brains and a Mother with Moxie: The Strange History of Pituitary Growth Hormone”


Randi Hutter Epstein, MD, MPH, MS

Adjunct Professor of Journalism

Columbia University


Yale University


Thursday, September 26, 2019

4:30 p.m.

Alumni Auditorium

650 West 168th Street, First Floor

Reception to follow in the Schaefer Awards Gallery


Dr. Epstein is a medical writer, lecturer at Yale University, Writer in Residence at Yale Medical School, and an adjunct professor at Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism. Dr. Epstein earned a BS degree from the University of Pennsylvania where she studied the history and sociology of science. She earned an MS degree from Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, an MD degree from Yale University School of Medicine, and an MPH degree from Columbia University’s Mailman School of Public Health. Her articles have appeared in national publications, including the New York Times and the Washington Post. She is  the author of “Get Me Out: A History of Childbirth from the Garden of Eden to the Sperm Bank” (W.W. Norton, 2010) and “AROUSED: The History of Hormones and How They Control Just About Everything”(W.W. Norton, 2018). Dr. Epstein and her husband live in New York City.  They have four grown children.


More information on the Dean's Distinguished Lecture Series

Past Distinguished Lecturers in the Humanities

2017–18 – Kellie Jones

2016–17 – Rita Charon

2015–16 – Amale Andraos

2014–15 – Brian Greene

2013–14 – Pamela H. Smith

2012–13 – Mark C. Taylor

2011–12 – Sylvia Nasar

2007–08 – David Freedberg

2005–06 – Andrew Delbanco

2003–04 – Jonathan Cole

2002–03 – Jeffrey Sachs

2001–02 – Eric Foner

2000–01 – Edward W. Said

1999–2000 – Robert E. Pollack

1998–99 – Kenneth Jackson

1997–98 – Jack Greenberg

1996–97 – George Rupp

1995–96 – David N. Cannadine

1994–95 – Simon A. Schama

1993–94 – James H. Beck

1992–93 – Osborn Elliott

1991–92 – Henry F. Graf

1990–91 – Fred Friendly

1989–90 – Howard Shanet

1988–89 – Zbigniew Brzezinski

1987–88 – Louis Henkin

1986–87 – Barbara Aronstein Black

1985–86 – Robert Merton

1984–85 – Edith Porada

1983–84 – David Rothman

1982–83 – Harriet Zuckerman

1981–82 – Fritz Stern