Dean's Distinguished Lecture Series

2018-2019 Dean's Distinguished Lecture in the Clinical Sciences

Ira Tabas, MD, PhD
Ira Tabas, MD, PhD

“How Cells React to Stress: A Key to Understanding the Scourge of Cardiometabolic Disease”


Ira Tabas, MD, PhD

Richard J. Stock Professor of Medicine (Immunology)

Professor of Pathology and Cell Biology (in Physiology and Cellular Biophysics)

Columbia University


Tuesday, April 16, 2019

4:30 p.m.

Alumni Auditorium

650 West 168th Street, First Floor

Reception to follow in the Schaefer Awards Gallery


Dr. Tabas is the Richard J. Stock Professor of Medicine, professor of pathology & cell biology (in physiology & cellular biophysics), and vice chair for research in the Department of Medicine at Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons (VP&S). He completed his MD/PhD at Washington University in St. Louis and his clinical training at Columbia University Irving Medical Center. His research has focused on the integrated area of cardiometabolic disease, where he has elucidated signaling pathways in macrophages that contribute to atherosclerosis and in hepatocytes that contribute to type 2 diabetes (T2D) and nonalcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH). His papers have appeared in Cell, Nature, Science, Nature Cell Biology, Cell Metabolism, Journal of Clinical Investigation, PNAS, and other top journals, and he is on Science's Board of Reviewing Editors. Dr. Tabas has patents related to both atherosclerosis and T2D therapy, and he is co-founder of Tabomedex Biosciences, which is developing drugs for T2D and atherosclerosis. His awards include election to American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians; the American Heart Association (AHA) Established Investigator Award; the VP&S Harold and Golden Lamport Research Award; the AHA Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology Council Special Recognition Award; Washington University’s School of Medicine Alumni Achievement Award; the Society of Leukocyte Biology Bonazinga award; Harrington Discovery Institute’s Innovator-Scholar Award; the AHA Ross Lectureship Award; the 2018 National Heart Lung and Blood Institute Outstanding Investigator Award; and keynote lectures at international meetings including the 2019 Gordon Research Conference on Phagocytosis, the 2019 European Lipid Club, and the 2019 Hugh Sinclair Memorial Lecture of the British Atherosclerosis Society.


More information on the Dean's Distinguished Lecture Series

Past Distinguished Lecturers in the Clinical Sciences

2016–17 – Alice Prince

2016–17 – Timothy Wang

2015–16 – Domenico Accili

2014–15 – Megan Sykes

2013–14 – Wendy Chung

2012–13 – Siddhartha Mukherjee

2010–11 – David P. Roye

2008–09 – Angela M. Christiano

2007–08 – Donald W. Landry

2005–06 – David A. Brenner

2003–04 – Rudolph Leibel

2002–03 – Barbara Barlow

2001–02 – Anne Gershon

2000–01 – Myron L. Weisfeldt

1999–2000 – Alan R. Tall

1998–99 – Donald Klein

1997–98 – Richard Mayeux

1996–97 – Herbert D. Kleber

1995–96 – Leonard Chess

1994–95 – Eric A. Rose

1993–94 – Harold C. Neu

1992–93 – Nancy S. Wexler

1991–92 – J. Thomas Bigger

1990–91 – Robert Canfield

1989–90 – I. Bernard Weinstein

1988–89 – Qais Al-Awqati

1987–88 – Lewis P. Rowland

1986–87 – L. Stanley James

1985–86 – DeWitt Goodman

1984–85 – Salvatore Di Mauro

1983–84 – Arthur Bank

1982–83 – Keith Reemtsma

1981–82 – Robert Mellins