Dean's Distinguished Lecture Series

2018-2019 Dean's Distinguished Lecture in the Basic Sciences

Donna Farber, PhD
Donna Farber, PhD

“Human Immunity in Space and Time”


Donna Farber, PhD

George H. Humphreys, II Professor of Surgical Sciences (in Surgery)

Professor of Microbiology and Immunology

Columbia University


Wednesday, February 20, 2019

4:30 p.m.

Alumni Auditorium

650 West 168th Street, First Floor

Reception to follow in the Schaefer Awards Gallery


Donna Farber is the George H. Humphreys II Professor of Surgical Sciences (in Surgery), professor of microbiology & immunology, and associate director of the Columbia Center for Translational Immunology at Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons (VP&S). She received her BS in microbiology from the University of Michigan and her PhD in biochemistry and molecular biology from the University of California, Santa Barbara. Dr. Farber did postdoctoral training in the Section of Immunobiology at Yale University and at the Pasteur Institute in Paris, France. She began her laboratory at the University of Maryland School of Medicine and moved to VP&S in 2010. For the past 22 years, her research has focused on immunological memory and, recently, on how the immune response is compartmentalized in tissue sites in mouse infection models and in humans. For human studies, Dr. Farber set up a unique resource to obtain multiple tissues from organ donors, enabling novel investigation of human immunity throughout the body over age and genetic diversity.


More information on the Dean's Distinguished Lecture Series

Past Distinguished Lecturers in the Basic Sciences

2017–18 – Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic

2016–17 – Rene Hen

2015–16 – Steven L. Reiner

2014–15 – Frank Costantini

2013–14 – Richard Mann

2012–13 – Steven A. Siegelbaum

2010–11 – Andrea Califano

2008–09 – Robert S. Kass

2007–08 – Marian Carlson

2004–05 – James E. Rothman

2003–04 – Andrew Marks

2002–03 – Eric Gouaux

2001–02 – Vincent Racaniello

2000–01 – Virginia E. Papaioannou

1999–2000 – Lloyd A. Greene

1998–99 – Kathryn Calame

1997–98 – Gary Struhl

1996–97 – Michael D. Gershon

1995–96 – Thomas M. Jessell

1994–95 – Riccardo Dalla-Favera

1993–94 – Barry Honig

1992–93 – Argiris Efstratiadis

1991–92 – Stephen P. Goff

1990–91 – Arthur Karlin

1989–90 – Frederick Alt

1988–89 – Richard Axel

1987–88 – Wayne Hendrickson

1986–87 – Reinhold Benesch

1985–86 – Elvin Kabat

1984–85 – Harold Ginsberg

1983–84 – Eric Kandel

1982–83 – Brian Hoffman