The 2018-2019 Alexander Ming Fisher Lecture

“Suicide: Clinical and Personal Perspectives”


Kay Redfield Jamison, PhD
The Dalio Professor in Mood Disorders
Professor of Psychiatry
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine


Wednesday, March 6, 2019
5:00 p.m.
Alumni Auditorium
650 W. 168th St., First Floor

Watch livestream beginning at 4:45 p.m. on 3/6


Reception to follow in the Schaefer Awards Gallery



Kay Redfield Jamison, PhD

Dr. Jamison is the Dalio Professor in Mood Disorders and professor of psychiatry at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and co-director of the Johns Hopkins Mood Disorders Center. She is also Honorary Professor of English at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland. She is co-author of the standard medical text on manic-depressive (bipolar) illness; the book was chosen as the most outstanding book in biomedical sciences by the American Association of Publishers. She also is author of “Touched with Fire,” "An Unquiet Mind,” "Night Falls Fast,” “Exuberance” and “Nothing Was the Same. Dr. Jamison has written more than 125 scientific and clinical articles about mood disorders, suicide, creativity, and lithium. Her memoir, “An Unquiet Mind,” which chronicles her own experience with bipolar illness, was on The New York Times bestseller list for five months and translated into 30 languages. “Night Falls Fast: Understanding Suicide was a national bestseller and selected by The New York Times as a Notable Book of 1999.

“Exuberance: The Passion for Lifewas selected by The Washington Post, The Seattle Times, and The San Francisco Chronicle as one of the best books of 2004 and by Discover magazine as one of the best science books of the year. Her most recent book, “Robert Lowell: Setting the River On Fire, was a Pulitzer Prize finalist and was selected as one of the best books of 2017 by The Washington Post, The Boston Globe, The Seattle Times, The Irish Times, The Times Literary Supplement, and New Statesman. Dr. Jamison is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the Royal Society of Edinburgh and has received numerous literary and scientific awards, including the Lewis Thomas Prize, the Sarnat Prize from the National Academy of Medicine, and a MacArthur Fellowship.